Main content

Latest Video

Tigers at Midsumma

12:15pm  Jan 17, 2018

Cardinia open training

10:12am  Jan 17, 2018

Footy Feed: Year of the Tiger

6:01am  Jan 16, 2018

Latest News

Tigers in Cardinia

Beaconsfield’s Holm Park Recreation Reserve turned yellow and black yesterday as the Tigers held their first open training session for 2018.

12:55pm  Jan 17, 2018

Post-premiership rewind: Hardwick’s history-making feat

In the last of our post-premiership rewind series we look at how Damien Hardwick made history in 2017

9:52am  Jan 17, 2018

Post-premiership rewind: Terrific Tigers end 37-year wait

As part of our post-premiership rewind series we look back at we look back to where the game was won with the Grand Final match report.

9:34am  Jan 16, 2018

Dusty again attracts coaches’ attention

Tony Greenberg,  September 12, 2017 10:33 AM

QF: Dusty dominates on the big stage Highlights of Dustin Martin's Qualifying Final against Geelong.
AFL 2017 Second Qualifying Final - Geelong v Richmond

Dustin Martin drives the ball forward against Geelong last Friday night

Dustin Martin has made a flying start in the AFL Coaches Association’s 2017 Gary Ayres Award for the best player over the course of the finals series.

The outstanding Richmond midfielder, fresh from winning the AFLCA’s Player of the Year Award (for his superb home-and-away season), polled nine votes following his dynamic display for the Tigers in their 51-point win against Geelong in last Friday night’s big qualifying final encounter at the MCG.

Richmond captain Trent Cotchin was rewarded with eight votes for his inspirational efforts throughout the match.

It was a clean sweep, voting-wise, in the Gary Ayres Award for the Tigers in the opening week of the finals, with quality defender Nick Vlastuin, seven votes, top on-baller Dion Prestia, four votes, valuable midfielder Kane Lambert, one vote, and star key defender Alex Rance, one vote, rounding out the Yellow and Black domination.

Sydney captain Josh Kennedy, who won the inaugural Gary Ayres Award last year, shares the early lead in 2017 with West Coast’s Luke Shuey, with both receiving 10 votes. Then follows Martin on nine votes, and Cotchin with eight votes, alongside Adelaide pair Eddie Betts and Brad Couch, West Coast’s Jeremy McGovern and Sydney’s Luke Parker.

The Gary Ayres Award is named in recognition of the five-time Hawthorn premiership great and dual Norm Smith Medallist.