Main content

New Richmond life members recognised

Richmond's Jack Riewoldt sets up for goal during the 2014 AFL round 07 match between the Geelong Cats and the Richmond Tigers at the MCG, Melbourne on May 04, 2014. (Photo: David Callow/AFL Media)
Richmond spearhead Jack Riewoldt was one of 14 Richmond players, officials and volunteers awarded with life membership in 2014.

Richmond has awarded a further 14 current and former players and officials with life membership, at the Club’s 2014 Annual General Meeting.

The group includes current players Shane Edwards, Nathan Foley and Jack Riewoldt, who celebrated their 150th games during the 2014 season, along with recently-retired midfielder Daniel Jackson.

The Club also recognised the achievements of four former Tigers – George Bownas, William Carkeek, Ernest McDonald and Charlie Williams, who played in the 1902 and 1905 VFA premierships.

Renew or join as a Richmond member for the 2015 season

Richmond recently amended its life membership eligibility criteria in order to elevate the standing and esteem of its past players who have played a part in winning premierships.

The Board resolved that any Richmond player who has played multiple Richmond premierships, or played in a Richmond premiership and a minimum of 100 senior games, would qualify for life membership.

Richmond awarded the following players, staff and officials with life membership at the 2014 AGM:

Nathan Foley
Shane Edwards
Jack Riewoldt
Daniel Jackson
Kelvin Moore
George Bownas (deceased)
William Carkeek (deceased)
Ernest McDonald (deceased)
Charlie Williams (deceased)

Maurice O’Shannassy
Rob Dalton

Michael Stahl

Geoff Blackbourn
Gerard Egan