Main content

Ian Stewart Medal up for grabs

Trent Cotchin of the Tigers presents a birthday cake to Nate Anderson after the 2014 AFL Round 15 match between the St Kilda Saints and the Richmond Tigers at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on June 28, 2014. (Photo: David Callow/AFL Media)
Trent Cotchin with the Ian Stewart Medal last year

The best player afield in Sunday’s Round 16 Richmond v St Kilda clash at Etihad Stadium will win the annual Ian Stewart Medal.

This prestigious individual award is named in honor of the only player in league football history to win a Brownlow Medal and premiership at two clubs.

Ian Stewart, a brilliant centreman, played 127 games for St Kilda from 1963-70 after being recruited from Tasmanian club Hobart.  He also won back-to-back Brownlow Medals with the Saints in 1965-66, and was a member of their only premiership side in 1966.

In 1971, Stewart joined Richmond in a sensational swap for the Tigers’ dual premiership centreman Bill Barrot.

Stewart went on to play 78 games for Richmond from 1971-75.  He won his third Brownlow Medal in his debut season with the Tigers, as well as the Club’s Best and Fairest award, the Jack Dyer Medal, that year.

Two years later, ‘Stewie’ was a pivotal player in the Richmond team that defeated Carlton by 30 points in the 1973 Grand Final.

Ian Stewart also is a Team of the Century member and a Hall of Fame inductee at both clubs, as well as an Australian Football Hall of Fame Legend.

The full list of Ian Stewart Medal winners is:

2004:  Austinn Jones (St Kilda)
2005:  Nick Dal Santo (St Kilda)
2006:  Lenny Hayes (St Kilda)
2007:  Leigh Montagna (St Kilda)
2008:  Stephen Milne (St Kilda)
2009:  Brendon Goddard (St Kilda)
2010:  Jack Riewoldt (Richmond)
2011:  Brett Deledio (Richmond)
2012:  Jack Riewoldt (Richmond)
2013:  Ty Vickery (Richmond)
2014:  Trent Cotchin (Richmond)