Main content

Top work nets Rance the Bourke

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 13: Alex Rance of the Tigers in action during the 2015 AFL First Elimination Final match between the Richmond Tigers and the North Melbourne Kangaroos at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne, Australia on September 13, 2015. (Photo by Sean Garnsworthy/AFL Media)
For the third year running, and fourth time overall, Alex Rance has won the Francis Bourke Award

For the third year running, and fourth time overall, Alex Rance has claimed the prestigious Francis Bourke Award.

Rance received his latest Francis Bourke Award at tonight’s 2015 Jack Dyer Medal function.

Since the inception of this annual award, named in honor of the Tigers’ five-time premiership hero and Club ‘Immortal’, and voted on by the current-day playing group, Rance has won it more often than anyone.

Each week throughout the season the group cast votes on a 3-2-1 basis for the players that best upholds their trademarks values – awareness, united, relentless and discipline.

Awareness is the players’ ability to look outside themselves and think of their teammates.  This is evident on game-day through communication, covering a teammate’s opponent, and picking each other up.

Being Disciplined and United is playing your role for the benefit of the team.  It is also about showing adherence to the game plan and structures that the coaches have in place.  Players are accountable for their own decisions and own the outcomes, both positive and negative.

Relentless is constantly being bold in attacking the game in offense and as the ball carrier in defence – regardless of the score.  It is being dedicated to fulfilling our own expectations, and those of our supporters.

Rance rose to another level on-field in 2015, averaging 17 disposals per game and being selected in the All-Australian team for a second successive year.

Here is a summary of other 2015 Jack Dyer Medal night award winners . . .


Cosgrove-Jenkins Best First Year Player Award – Kamdyn McIntosh

McIntosh had been on Richmond’s playing list for two years before making his debut in the opening round of the 2015 season against Carlton at the MCG. 

He had an instant impact, receiving the first AFL Rising Star award nomination of the season. 

The 21-year-old finished the year as one of 10 Tigers to play every game, averaging 15 disposals as a hard-running wingman.


Michael Roach Leading Goalkicker Award – Jack Riewoldt

It’s the sixth straight year Riewoldt has taken out this award, capping off another fine season by the star forward. 

Riewoldt became the first player in Tigerland history to kick 50 goals or more in six successive seasons, finishing with a total of 54 for the season.  

He also was named in the All-Australian team for the second time in his career.


ME Fairest and Best Award – Dustin Martin

Martin continued to build on his reputation as a premier midfielder in 2015, averaging a career-high 26 disposals and one goal per game, from 23 appearances.

He finished seventh in the 2015 Brownlow Medal with 21 votes and was named in the initial 40-player All-Australian squad.

It’s the second year in-a-row that Martin has taken out this award, which is voted on by Richmond fans.


David Mandie Community Award – Dylan Grimes

As well as being one of Richmond’s most improved players on the field, Grimes has dedicated much of his spare time to giving back to the community, in particular working closely with the Club’s preferred charity partner, The Alannah and Madeline Foundation, which helps keep children safe from violence and bullying.