Main content

Grimes grabs Francis Bourke Award

2017 JDM: Francis Bourke Award Dylan Grimes accepts the Francis Bourke Award.

Reliable Richmond defender Dylan Grimes has won his inaugural Francis Bourke Award.

Grimes received the 2017 Francis Bourke Award at tonight’s gala Jack Dyer Medal function.

This prestigious annual award, named in honour of Richmond’s five-time premiership hero and Club ‘Immortal’, is determined by the Tigers’ current-day playing group.

Own a piece of Richmond history with our range of Premiers memorabilia

Each week throughout the season, the playing group cast votes on a 3-2-1 basis for the players that best uphold their trademarks values of awareness, united, relentless and discipline.

Awareness is the players’ ability to look outside of themselves and focus on their teammates. 

Being Disciplined and United is playing your role for the benefit of the team.  It also is about showing adherence to the game plan and structures the coaches have put in place. 

Relentless is constantly being bold in attacking the game in offense, and as the ball carrier in defence, regardless of the score.  

Grimes played a crucial role in Richmond’s premiership season through his ability to consistently shut down the opposition’s dangerous forwards, as well as being capable of turning defence into attack.

Each week, he went about his business with minimum fuss, but maximum efficiency.

Here is a summary of other 2017 Jack Dyer Medal night award winners . . .


Bill Cosgrove-Harry Jenkins Best First Year Player Award – Dan Butler

Butler took out the Cosgrove-Jenkins award following a fine first season at senior level with Richmond.

The speedy, skilful small forward, who was the Tigers’ fourth pick (No. 67 overall) in the 2014 AFL National Draft, kicked 30 goals and averaged 11.4 disposals, 3.6 tackles and 2.7 inside-50s per match in his 23 games.

Among the competition’s rising stars, he was ranked No. 1 in goals, No. 1 in goal assists, No. 1 in tackles inside-50, No. 1 in bounces, No. 2 in score involvements, No. 2 in inside-50s, No. 3 in tackles and No. 5 in marks inside 50.

Butler received an AFL Rising Star nomination following his impressive Round 11 performance against North Melbourne at Etihad Stadium.


Michael Roach Medal (leading goalkicker award) – Jack Riewoldt

For the eighth year in-a-row, Riewoldt has taken out the Michael Roach Medal.

Riewoldt kicked 54 goals and played a pivotal role in the Tigers’ triumphant 2017 season.

The star key forward averaged 13.3 disposals, 3.0 marks and 2.5 tackles per game.

He was ranked No. 1 in the competition for marks inside 50 and fourth for goals.


Guinane Medal (VFL Best and Fairest award) – Anthony Miles

Anthony Miles has won the Guinane Medal, as the Richmond VFL team’s Best and Fairest player for 2017.

The tenacious midfield ‘ball magnet’ had a major impact for the Tigers at VFL level right throughout the season. His strong on-ball efforts were a significant factor in them reaching the grand final.


David Mandie Community Award – Shane Edwards

Shane Edwards wins this year's award for a special commitment to supporting the Club's Korin Gamadji Institute.

Since being drafted by Richmond in 2006, Edwards has also taken significant steps to become a leader, not only on the field, but particularly for many Indigenous youth.