Main content

Top team of Vic country Tigers

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - APRIL 14:  David Astbury of the Tigers kicks the ball during the round four AFL match between the Richmond Tigers and the Brisbane Lions at Melbourne Cricket Ground on April 14, 2018 in Melbourne, Australia.  (Photo by Brett Hemmings/AFL Media)
David Astbury originates from his family’s farm near Tatyoon in Victoria’s Ararat district.

With Richmond scheduled to play at Shepparton (against Melbourne) in its opening 2019 JLT Community Series match, Tony Greenberg has compiled a powerful line-up of players from Victorian country areas that have represented the Tigers over the past 50 years. 

B:  Mick Malthouse – North Ballarat (121 games), Scott Turner – Ararat (144 games), David Astbury – Tatyoon/North Ballarat (107 games)

HB:  Mervyn Keane – Wycheproof (238 games), Jim Jess – Avoca/St Arnaud (223 games), Leon Cameron – South Warrnambool (84 games)

C:  Francis Bourke – Nathalia (300 games), Matthew Knights – Mildura (279 games), Wayne Campbell – Ouyen/Bendigo (297 games)

HF:  John Northey – Derrinallum (118 games), Dick Clay – Kyabram (213 games), Barry Rowlings – Moe (152 games)

F:  Chris Naish – Wangaratta (143 games), Barry Richardson – Barnawartha/St Pat’s Ballarat (125 games), Paul Broderick – Camperdown (169 games)

R:  Mark Lee – Mildura (233 games), Dustin Martin – Castlemaine (201 games), Dale Weightman – Mildura Imperials (274 games)

IC:  Tony Free – Lalbert (133 games), Brett Deledio – Kyabram (243 games), Nathan Foley – Colac (154 games), Shaun Grigg – Redan/North Ballarat (171 games).


Richmond premiership players within the team:  Bourke (five), Clay (four), Richardson (three), Keane (three), Northey (two), Jess (one), Roach (one), Lee (one), Rowlings (one), Weightman (one), Malthouse (one), Shaun Grigg (one), David Astbury (one), Dustin Martin (one).

Jack Dyer Medallists within the team:  Campbell (four), Weightman (two), Free (two), Knights (two), Deledio (two), Martin (two), Bourke (one), Lee (one), Rowlings (one), Broderick (one).

Brownlow Medallists within the team: Dustin Martin.

Richmond captains within the team:  Free, Bourke, Knights, Campbell, Lee, Rowlings, Weightman.

AFL Rising Star winners within the team: Brett Deledio.