Richmond CEO Brendon Gale has been appointed to the AFL Women’s Competition Committee, ahead of its third meeting for 2020 to be held on Tuesday September 8.

The 13-person Committee assists the AFL Commission with the future direction of women’s football, covering areas such as the laws of the game, tribunal, list rules and player movement, the competition structure, fixturing and talent programs.

Gale joins the Committee alongside GWS captain Alicia Eva and Geelong Vice-President Diana Taylor.

AFL General Manager Football Operations Steve Hocking said he was pleased all three will be joining the Committee and looked forward to their insights and perspectives that will support the progression of the game.

“Alicia, Brendon and Diana are all passionate and committed to enhancing women’s football and their unique insights will be of great value to the Committee,” Mr Hocking said.

“Alicia is an outstanding leader of her club and a genuine role model of our game, while Brendon and Diana add a great level of governance experience and expertise to the Committee.”

The AFLW Competition Committee comprises:

Simone Wilkie AFL Commissioner (Chair)

Nicole Livingstone AFL Head of Women’s Football

Steve Hocking AFL GM Football Operations

Brett Murphy AFLPA GM Player Relations

Phil Harper Adelaide Crows GM, Football Administration

Lauren Arnell Brisbane Lions AFLW Player

Diana Taylor Geelong Cats Vice President

Mark Evans Gold Coast Suns CEO

Alicia Eva GWS Giants AFLW Captain

Todd Patterson Melbourne AFLW List Manager

Laura Kane North Melbourne Football Operations Manager

Brendon Gale Richmond CEO

Peta Searle St Kilda AFLW Senior Coach