TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Video

Latest News

Cotchin sets tone for Tigers

If you looked at the raw statistical numbers alone, you could be forgiven for thinking that Richmond captain Trent Cotchin is struggling just a tad at the moment.

5:55pm  Jul 21, 2018

VFLW Tigers grounded by NT Thunder

The VFLW Tigers suffered a 23-point defeat to NT Thunder on Saturday afternoon in Round 11 at the Swinburne Centre.

5:15pm  Jul 21, 2018

Round 16 VFL squad named

The VFL Tigers have named an extended squad for this Sunday’s Round 16 clash against Sandringham.

4:38pm  Jul 21, 2018

Dusty named AFL Players’ MVP  September 12, 2017 9:45 PM

Dusty's 2017 highlights Watch highlights from Dustin Martin's 2017 home and away season.
Dustin Martin has been crowned the 2017 AFLPA's MVP - Dustin Martin,Richmond Tigers

Dustin Martin has been crowned the 2017 AFLPA's MVP

SUPERSTAR Richmond midfielder Dustin Martin has continued his triumphant march through the awards season after being named the AFL Players' Association Most Valuable Player.

Fresh from leading the Tigers into a preliminary final after picking up 28 disposals, nine inside 50s and six broken tackles against Geelong last Friday at the MCG, Martin finished well ahead of reigning winner Patrick Dangerfield. 

Martin tallied 1333 votes, more than 500 ahead of Dangerfield on 776. Out-of-contract Greater Western Sydney gun Josh Kelly rounded out the top three with 416.

Adelaide star Rory Sloane was fourth on 267 while the Coleman medallist, Sydney's Lance Franklin, had 215 votes.

Dangerfield tallied 1369 when he won the MVP last year, while Fremantle jet Nat Fyfe picked up 1455 in 2015.

Martin was presented the Leigh Matthews Trophy at a function in Melbourne's Docklands on Tuesday night.

He credited meditation for what has been a stressful year, after going through much of the campaign under plenty of scrutiny with his future yet to be confirmed.

Who will take home this years Brownlow Medal? Enjoy a casual evening event for Richmond supporters as we broadcast the 2017 Brownlow Medal count in the Maurice Rioli Room

Martin has since signed a multi-million dollar contract for seven years.

"It has been pretty stressful, although I might not show it. I'm glad all that stuff's out of the way and I'm just excited for the next couple of weeks," Martin said.

With the Tigers in a preliminary final where they will face the winner of Friday night's Geelong and Sydney clash, Martin was feeling the enthusiasm from supporters. 

"Richmond's rocking. You drive down the street today, there was black and yellow everywhere. It's great," Martin said.

Not being a huge football watcher, Martin might not watch the whole contest, but he confessed to a little bit of interest.  

"I don't watch too much football but I'm sure I will at some stage. I might watch a quarter," Martin said.

Not that the opposition concerns Dusty.

"We'll take on whoever," he said.

Martin played every match in the home and away season and averaged 30 disposals while booting 32 goals.

The MVP is voted for in two stages, with each player nominating three teammates to take out the award to create a list of 54 nominees. Every player then votes for their 3-2-1, with voting for teammates not allowed.

In other Richmond news from the night, small forward Daniel Rioli was named on the interchange bench in the 2017 22Under22 team, which honours some of the game's most exciting young talent.

AFLPA MVP results

Most Valuable Player - Leigh Matthews Trophy
1. Dustin Martin (Rich) – 1333 votes
2. Patrick Dangerfield (Geel) – 776
3. Josh Kelly (GWS) – 416
4. Rory Sloane (Adel) – 267
5. Lance Franklin (Syd) – 215 

Most Courageous
1. Rory Sloane (Adel) – 188 votes
2. Joel Selwood (Geel) – 133
3. Callan Ward (GWS) – 89
4. Luke Hodge (Haw) – 77
5. Dale Morris (WB) – 71

Best First-Year Player
1. Andrew McGrath (Ess) – 274 votes
2. Sam Powell-Pepper (PA) – 250
3. Sam Petrevski-Seton (Carl) – 48
4. Will Hayward (Syd) – 35
5. Tom Stewart (Geel) – 25

Best Captain
1. Taylor Walker (Adel) – 140 votes
2. Josh Kennedy (Syd) – 125
3. Joel Selwood (Geel) – 100
4. Jarryd Roughead (Haw) – 87
5. Robert Murphy (WB) – 46

22under22 Team
B: Andrew McGrath (Ess). Harris Andrews (Bris). Callum Mills (Syd)
HB: Jayden Hunt (Mel). Jake Lever (Adel). Ryan Burton (Haw)
C: Marcus Bontempelli (WB). Clayton Oliver (Mel). Josh Kelly (GWS)
HF: Jack Billing (St K). Charlie Curnow (Carl). Jack Martin (GC)
F: Orazio Fantasia (Ess). Eric Hipwood (Bris). Tom Papley (Syd)
FOLL: Peter Wright (GC), Zach Merrett (Ess). Matt Crouch (Adel)
I/C: James Sicily (Haw), Isaac Heeney (Syd), Ollie Wines (PA), Daniel Rioli (Rich)