Main content

From the draft to the cup

In a special series leading up to the 2017 AFL national draft, examines how the Tigers constructed their drought-breaking premiership team this year via the competition’s main recruiting pathway over the past decade. We kick it off today with Tony Greenberg taking a look at the national draft history of Richmond’s 2017 premiership line-up.


The AFL’s national draft of 2006 has proven to be a goldmine for Richmond 11 years on.

Four of the draftees from that year were presented with premiership medallions on the last Saturday of September 2017, after playing key roles in the Tigers’ glorious Grand Final triumph over Adelaide at the MCG.

Two of the draft class of 2006, in fact, started their AFL careers with rival clubs, before subsequently landing at Tigerland.

Shaun Grigg was Carlton’s third selection in the ’06 draft, taken by the Blues at pick 19 overall, while Bachar Houli went to Essendon at pick 42 overall in that draft.

They both joined Richmond within weeks of each other following the 2010 season – Grigg as the result of a trade and Houli through the pre-season draft.

The Tigers’ first pick in the 2006 national draft – No.13 overall – was talented Tasmanian teenage forward Jack Riewoldt.

Their second selection that year – pick 26 – was clever, young South Australian small forward Shane Edwards.

Below is the full list of the national draft history of Richmond’s 2017 premiership line-up. Note that Dylan Grimes (2010 pre-season draft), Kane Lambert and Jason Castagna (both 2015 rookie draft selections) have not been included.



No. 13 – Jack Riewoldt, Clarence (Tasmania)/Tasmania under 18s

No. 19 – Shaun Grigg (to Carlton), North Ballarat Rebels (TAC Cup)

No. 26 – Shane Edwards, North Adelaide (SANFL)

No. 42 – Bachar Houli (to Essendon), Western Jets (TAC Cup)



No. 2 – Trent Cotchin, Northern Knights (TAC Cup)

No. 18 (Richmond priority selection) – Alex Rance, Swan Districts (WAFL)






No. 3 – Dustin Martin, Castlemaine (Vic)/Bendigo Pioneers (TAC Cup)

No. 35 – David Astbury, North Ballarat Rebels (TAC Cup)



No. 7 – Josh Caddy (to Gold Coast), Northern Knights (TAC Cup)

No. 9 – Dion Prestia (to Gold Coast), Calder Canons (TAC Cup)



No. 15 – Brandon Ellis, Calder Cannons (TAC Cup)

Jacob Townsend, NSW-ACT zone selection for GWS



No. 9 – Nick Vlastuin, Northern Knights (TAC Cup)

No. 31 – Kamdyn McIntosh, Peel Thunder (WAFL)



No. 35 – Toby Nankervis (to Sydney), North Launceston (Tasmania)



No. 67 – Dan Butler, North Ballarat Rebels (TAC Cup)



No. 15 – Daniel Rioli, North Ballarat Rebels (TAC Cup)

No. 67 – Nathan Broad, Swan Districts (WAFL)



No. 53 – Jack Graham, North Adelaide, SANFL