Star Richmond defender Dylan Grimes has won the Francis Bourke Award for the second year in-a-row.

Grimes received the prestigious award at tonight’s gala 2018 Jack Dyer Medal function.

The Francis Bourke Award, named in honour of Richmond’s five-time premiership hero and Club ‘Immortal’, is determined by the Tigers’ current-day playing group.

Each week throughout the season, the playing group cast votes on a 3-2-1 basis for the players that best uphold their trademarks values of awareness, united, relentless and discipline.

Awareness is the players’ ability to look outside of themselves and focus on their teammates. 

Being Disciplined and United is playing your role for the benefit of the team.  It also is about showing adherence to the game plan and structures the coaches have put in place. 

Relentless is constantly being bold in attacking the game in offense, and as the ball carrier in defence, regardless of the score.  

Grimes again played a crucial role in Richmond’s line-up during season 2018 through his ability to consistently negate the opposition’s dangerous forwards, as well as turning defence into attack from strong interceptions.

Here are the other 2018 Jack Dyer Medal night award winners . . .

Bill Cosgrove-Harry Jenkins Best First Year Player Award – Jack Higgins

Higgins took out the Cosgrove-Jenkins award following an excellent debut season of AFL football with Richmond.

The talented, young, small forward/midfielder, who was the Tigers’ first pick (No. 17 overall) in the 2017 AFL National Draft, played 20 games, averaged 16.2 disposals per match and kicked 15 goals, including the competition’s Goal of the Year against Collingwood in Round 19.

Among the competition’s rising stars, he was ranked No. 1 for contested possessions, No. 1 for goal assists, No. 1 for score involvements per game, No. 5 for disposals and No. 5 for stoppage clearances.

Higgins received an AFL Rising Star nomination following his impressive Round 18 performance against St Kilda.

Michael Roach Medal (leading goalkicker award) – Jack Riewoldt

Guinane Medal (VFL Best and Fairest award) – Anthony Miles

David Mandie Community Award – Reece Conca

VFLW Best and Fairest – Jessica Kennedy