Richmond’s Wheelchair Football team is ready for the opening round of the VWFL this Sunday, April 28 at the State Netball and Hockey Centre.

The 2022 premiers, who were runner-up last season, will look to start their 2024 campaign on a high note when they face last year's winner Hawthorn.


Sunday's Grand Final re-match commences at 1pm and will live-streamed on the VWFL Facebook page.

Richmond will be captained by the much-loved Teisha Shadwell in 2024, an emerging star of the competition and strong advocate for female participation in sport. 

The Tigers' will again be coached by Matthew Morris.

Shadwell will be joined 2023 primary players Angelo Mavroudis, James Weinert, Judeland Antony, Mitchell Stretton and Vincent Naidu, who are all back for this season, in addition to Chris Kotsanas who has been elevated from the supplementary list.

Premiership-winning captain Chris Henderson, who announced his retirement at the conclusion of last season, joins Ben Noble, Miranda Charlton and Dan Yore on this year's supplementary list.

Weinert will be one to look out for this season following a standout 2023 season in which he was named in the Victorian Metro squad for the National Wheelchair Championships.

He also won the Kevin Faulkner Medal for best on ground in Victoria's National Title victory over Western Australia.

Following Round 1, the Tigers will face St Kilda on Sunday May 5, also at the State Netball and Hockey Centre, before a Round 3 bye and a clash with Collingwood in Round 4.

See the full fixture below, with the Rounds 5 and 7 match details yet to the confirmed:

Click here to become a Richmond VWFL member in 2024, with all proceeds going towards player equipment, travel, costs and supporting our VWFL Players.