Main content

Tiger trio nominated for AFLPA MVP

Premier Richmond midfielder Dustin Martin is in contention to retain his status as the AFL Players Association's Most Valuable Player after being nominated for the prestigious award in 2018.

Martin received the Leigh Matthews Trophy for the peer nominated award last year after polling 1333 votes, more than 500 ahead of Geelong star Patrick Dangerfield.

The 27-year-old is averaging 25.1 disposals, 5.8 inside-50s and 5.2 clearances per game so far in 2018, has kicked a total of 29 goals, and is ranked first in the competition for inside-50s, first for score involvements and second for centre clearances.

Martin will be looking to join Gary Ablett Jr, Nat Fyfe, Chris Judd, Michael Voss, Wayne Carey and Greg Williams as a multiple winner of the award.

Fellow premiership-winning Tigers Shane Edwards and Kane Lambert have also been nominated for the 2018 award.

In other awards to be presented at the AFL Players’ MVP Awards night on Thursday August 30, Richmond captain Trent Cotchin is nominated for the Best Captain Award, defender Dylan Grimes is up for the Most Courageous award, and Jack Higgins is the Tigers' nominee for the Best First-Year Player.

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner. Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.