Jayden Short has confirmed his status as one of the most improved players in the AFL competition by winning an inaugural Jack Dyer Medal.

The skilful, speedy, small defender, who played all 21 games in Richmond’s 2020 premiership year, took out the Best and Fairest award at tonight’s count held in the Club’s Gold Coast hub.

He polled 53 votes, which was three more than Tigers champion Dustin Martin, who finished runner-up with 50 votes.

02:46 Mins
Published on

2020 JDM: Jack Dyer Medal

Jayden Short accepts the the 2020 Jack Dyer Medal.

Published on

Star backman Nick Vlastuin was third on 49 votes, exciting youngster Shai Bolton came fourth with 44 votes, while reliable, hard-running wingman Kamdyn McIntosh filled fifth place on 43 votes.

Short, originally a Richmond rookie-draft selection, maintained an an impressively high level of performance throughout the 2020 season in his rebounding role across the team’s backline.

The 24-year-old now dual premiership Tiger consistently showcased his pace, running ability and long kicking.

His capacity to cover the ground with hard, quick running, and then turn defence into attack through long, accurate, penetrating kicks, made him such an important member of the Richmond line-up.

Short averaged 19.1 disposals, 5.4 marks, 4.5 rebound-50s, 4.3 intercepts, 3.2 score involvements and 480.3 metres gained per game this season.

Among the Tigers’ playing group, he was ranked No. 1 for marks, No. 1 for rebound-50s, No. 1 for metres gained, No. 2 for disposals, No. 5 for inside-50s and No. 5 for intercepts.

01:08 Mins
Published on

2020 JDM: Short Jack Dyer Medallist

Jayden Short is the Jack Dyer Medallist for 2020.

Published on

In 17 games throughout the year, Short passed the 400 metres gained mark, with a season-high 771 metres gained during the Grand Final triumph over Geelong.

Martin claimed the Jack Titus Medal for his second-placed Best and Fairest finish.

He averaged 20.6 disposals, 1.1 goals, 3.7 clearances, 5.4 inside-50s, 5.8 score involvements and 365.8 metres gained in his 20 games for the season.

At Tigerland, he was ranked No. 1 for disposals, No. 1 for inside-50s, No. 1 for clearances, No. 1 for score involvements and No. 2 for metres gained.

Vlastuin, who was awarded the Maurie Fleming Medal, averaged 13.7 disposals, 4.8 marks, 3.8 rebound-50s, 7.0 intercepts and 258.6 metres gained across the 20 games he played.

He was the No. 1 ranked Richmond player for intercepts, No. 2 for marks, No. 2 for rebound-50s, No. 3 for one-percenters and No. 5 for metres gained.

Bolton, who received the Fred Swift Medal, averaged 15.8 disposals, 3.0 marks, 3.4 clearances, 4.3 inside-50s, 5.1 score involvements and 350.1 metres gained in his 19 games for the season, playing through the midfield and as a small forward.

He was ranked No. 2 among the Richmond playing group for inside-50s, No. 2 for score involvements, No. 3 for clearances, No. 3 for metres gained and No. 5 for disposals.

McIntosh, the Kevin Bartlett Medallist, played 18 games, averaging 13.6 disposals, 3.8 marks, 3.3 inside-50s, 3.3 intercepts and 306.3 metres gained.

At the Club, he was ranked No. 4 for inside-50s and No. 4 for metres gained.

Under the Jack Dyer Medal voting system, all of the team’s players on match day receive a rating from 0-5 based on their overall performance.

The match committee assesses each player’s offensive, defensive and contest impacts on the game.

After those game phases have been analysed, the 0-5 rating is given, as a joint match committee decision.

Votes are not allocated for what the match committee deems a below-average performance.

2020 Jack Dyer Medal top 20

1st – Jayden Short, 53 votes

2nd – Dustin Martin, 50

3rd – Nick Vlastuin, 49

4th – Shai Bolton, 44

5th – Kamdyn McIntosh, 43

6th – Liam Baker, 42

7th – Dylan Grimes, 41

8th – Noah Balta, 40

9th – Kane Lambert, 39

10th – Trent Cotchin, 37

11th – Jack Graham, 34

12th – Tom Lynch, 33

13th – Jason Castagna, 32

Equal 14th – Jack Riewoldt, 29

Equal 14th – Daniel Rioli, 29

Equal 16th – Jake Aarts, 28

Equal 16th – Toby Nankervis, 28

18th – Marlion Pickett, 26

19th – Shane Edwards, 22

20th – Bachar Houli, 19