Richmond's VWFL team kicks off its 2022 season against Collingwood this Sunday, April 10 at the Boroondara Sports Complex. 

And Tigers' captain Chris Henderson said the team is confident heading into the season after recruiting well in last month's draft

Richmond secured the talents of Jude Antony with the first pick in the draft, who'll return to Tigerland after a number of years at St Kilda. 

"It's been really exciting for us to welcome new players to the Club," Henderson said at last week's Richmond VWFL guernsey presentation ahead of their pre-season camp to Torquay. 

"We've recruited really well... Jude is back finally and he's playing with his cousin Christie as well.

"We've also added Matt Morris our coach, who's come back as a player this year along with Teisha Shadwell who's also a great wheelchair player."


Henderson said the Tigers were hoping that, after two interrupted seasons, they'll be able to get back to their consistent best which saw them win the premiership in 2019.

"We're really proud of the fact we've got a really strong squad this year," Henderson said.

"I think Richmond's going to be pretty competitive.

"Our depth is going to be key for us this year, the talent across the group is profound and will help us as a group to be better."

It will be a testing opening round for the Tigers this Sunday against the 2021 premiers in the Magpies. 

"Collingwood won the premiership last year, so they're going to be really competitive again and we'll give a good account of ourselves," Henderson said. 

The WVFL league continues to expand, with the introduction of a development league in 2022 to help new players develop their skills and work their way up to the main competition.

"There have been 34-35 players added to the league and now there are nearly 80 in the league," Henderson said.

"The growth is extraordinary, it's a really exciting time to be a part of it."

Richmond's 2022 VWFL squad:

Chris Henderson #18
Angelo Mavroudis #12
Mitchell Stretton #17
Freya Munzel #35
Chris Kotsanas #6
Vincent Naidu #4
Matthew Morris #2
Bryant parsons #8
Teisha Shadwell #41
Miranda Charlton #10
Judeland Antony #9
Matthew Farrell #13
Christie Arulnesa #19 
Peter Ogunyemi #23