Richmond co-captain Toby Nankervis has been rewarded for his powerful ruck performance against Hawthorn at the MCG last Saturday with maximum votes in the 2022 AFL Coaches’ Association’s Champion Player of the Year Round 9 voting.

Nankervis received 10 votes from respective coaches Damien Hardwick (Richmond) and Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn) for the influential, inspirational role he played in the Tigers’ 23-point win.

The robust triple Tiger premiership ruckman had 20 disposals, a game-high 15 contested possessions, an AFL career-high and equal game-high eight clearances, game-high six stoppage clearances, five tackles, 35 hit-outs, and kicked a crucial goal.

06:50 Mins
Published on

Round 9: Match highlights

Highlights of the Round 9 win over Hawthorn.

Published on

Star Richmond key forward Tom Lynch picked up six votes for another dynamic display –16 disposals, six marks, four goals and eight score involvements.

Lynch has kicked 17 goals and polled 24 coaches’ votes in his past three games.

01:27 Mins
Published on

Round 9: Lynch bags four

Watch Tom Lynch's highlights from the Round 9 win over Hawthorn.

Published on

Liam Baker’s superb showing across the Tigers’ backline earned him four votes. He had 24 disposals, 12 contested possessions, a game-high 14 intercepts, four inside-50s, six score involvements, seven tackles and 329 metres gained.

Dustin Martin, in just his second game back from a break, was given three votes.

Dusty gathered 20 disposals, took four marks, kicked three goals, had 10 score involvements, five inside-50s, four clearances and 409 metres gained.

02:18 Mins
Published on

Round 9: Dusty bags three in second game back

Highlights of Dustin Martin's Round 9 match against Hawthorn.

Published on

Rounding out Richmond’s Round 9 vote-getters in the prestigious coaches’ award were Dion Prestia and Shai Bolton, with two apiece.  

The full voting details for the Round 9 Richmond v Hawthorn match are:

10 – Toby Nankervis (Richmond)

6 – Tom Lynch (Richmond)

4 – Liam Baker (Richmond)

3 – Dustin Martin (Richmond)

3 – James Sicily (Hawthorn)

2 – Dion Prestia (Richmond)

2 – Shai Bolton (Richmond)