In the lead-up to the release of the 2019 AFL fixture, is taking a concise historical look at the competition’s current main playing venues from a Yellow and Black perspective. We conclude our series today with the Sydney Cricket Ground.



Games played: 32

Won: 13

Lost: 19

Drawn: Nil

First premiership season match: Round 8, 1952 v Collingwood (lost by 36 points).

Highest score: 34.18 (222), a Club record, Round 16, 1980 v St Kilda.

Lowest score: 5.6 (36) v Collingwood, Round 8, 1952.

Biggest win: 152 points v St Kilda, Round 16, 1980.

Biggest loss: 113 points v Sydney, Round 23, 2016.

Most individual goals in a match: 10 by Michael Roach v St Kilda, Round 16, 1980.

Most individual goals overall: 27 by Matthew Richardson.

Most individual disposals in a match: 40 by Kevin Bartlett v Fitzroy, Round 15, 1979 and by Phil Egan v Sydney, Round 21, 1983.

Most individual marks in a match: 13 by Michael Pickering v Sydney, Round 8, 1986 and by Matthew Richardson v Sydney, Round 10, 2008.

Most individual games: 12 by Dale Weightman.

Most individual wins: 8 by Dale Weightman.

Player debuts: Des Ryan, Round 8, 1986 v Sydney, Daniel Connors, Round 17, 2007 v Sydney and Mabior Chol, Round 23, 2016 v Sydney. 

Individual milestone matches: Alex Rance’s 150th game, Round 23, 2016 v Sydney.

Finals: Nil.

Other Tiger-related tidbits: Richmond first played at the venue against Collingwood in June 1952 on a weekend when the VFL scheduled a round of matches for premiership points outside of Melbourne. Other games were played at Euroa, Yallourn, Albury, North Hobart and Brisbane. Matthew Richardson played the final game of his illustrious career with the Tigers at the venue in 2009. Michael Mitchell won Richmond’s Goal of the Century for his scintillating, seven-bounce six-pointer against the Swans there in the final round of the 1990 season.