Ricmond's 2024 VFL coaches (L-R): Shaun Hampson, Joel Garner, Chris Muratore, Mohammed Kaakour, Marc Sophoulis, Steve Morris

Richmond has finalised its 2024 VFL coaching structure, headlined by coach Steve Morris who is set for his third year in the role.

Morris, 35, enters his 13th season at the Club, having spent six seasons as an AFL-listed player and four years as VFL captain before transitioning into coaching.

The popular coach will be assisted by former teammate Shaun Hampson, who has been appointed as the Club’s new VFL midfield coach.

Hampson returned to Richmond in 2023 as an AFLW assistant coach and will combine the roles for the upcoming season.

Mohammed Kaakour will continue as a line coach, entrusted with the VFL forwards for the 2024 season.

Kaakour, who also coaches the Bachar Houli Academies, has made a big impact since joining the program. He was previously the senior coach of Westmeadows.

Premiership-winning Parkside coach Chris Muratore has joined the Club as VFL backs coach.

Muratore helped lift Parkside from Division 3 of the Western Region Football League to Division 1 over the past six years, initially as a playing assistant coach and since 2019 as head coach. He was also an assistant coach with the Northern Bullants.

Long-time VFL assistant Marc Sophoulis will be back at the Club in 2024 as VFL Development and Bench Coach.

Sophoulis was a member of the Tigers’ premiership-winning 2019 VFL coaching structure and has built strong relationships within the program.

The highly experienced sports coach originally joined Richmond ahead of the 2008 season in a development role that progressed into VFL coaching and has been Head Coach of Melbourne International Tennis School for over two decades.

Morris will also be assisted across the season by AFL Development coaches Sam Lonergan and Kane Lambert and AFLW Senior Coach and AFL Development coach Ryan Ferguson.

Star recruit Joel Garner completes the coaching panel as a playing VFL development coach.

The 2024 Smithy’s VFL home and away season will consist of 21 rounds, with all teams to play 18 matches.

Round One action will commence the weekend of March 23-24.