Main content

Tiger trio selected for AFLX

Jack Riewoldt will captain Team Rampage

Three Tigers will take part in the AFLX 2019 competition, with the four teams finalised at Wednesday night's draft. 

Alex Rance and Jack Higgins were both chosen for Nat Fyfe's Team Flyers at pick 7 and pick 46 respectively. 

Jack Riewoldt, the captain of Team Rampage, will be the sole Richmond representative on his team.

MEMBERSHIP The Hunt Continues in 2019; join as a member today

Team Flyers captain Nat Fyfe has assembled a mind-boggling midfield, making that his priority in the draft.

With Bulldogs young star Marcus Bontempelli already installed as vice-captain, Scott Pendlebury, Isaac Heeney, Stephen Coniglio, Travis Boak, Lachie Hunter and Josh Kennedy will all be part of a midfield rotation the envy of any team in the competition.

A feature of the night were the steal cards that were in operation from round seven onwards, with Hunter joining Team Flyers after Fyfe decided to steal him away from Jack Riewoldt's Team Rampage. 

Riewoldt used his steal card in the ninth round by plucking Essendon's Dylan Shiel away from Patrick Dangerfield's Team Bolts, while the Geelong superstar used his card to pinch Daniel Rich in the 10th round.

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Richmond 🐯 (@richmond_fc) on


Eddie Betts did not have a steal card as he was the only captain (Team Deadly) who had access to indigenous players. 

Betts' team is stocked with some of the game's most exciting players, with the speed of Team Deadly sure to cause some problems for the opposition teams. 

No.1 overall selection Bradley Hill, Jarrod Harbrow, Lewis Jetta, Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti and Willie Rioli are all set to thrive in this area, although notably Betts does not have a standout ruck option in his side. 

Dangerfield's loyalty to his Geelong teammates (Tom Hawkins and Mark Blicavs) was endearing, but he also balanced his side nicely with Robbie Gray, Steele Sidebottom and Andrew Gaff all at the top echelon of midfielders in the competition. 

The Cats superstar has also backed in young guns Jaidyn Stephenson, Andrew McGrath and Jack Billings to stand up. 

BROWSE Find a 2019 membership package suited to you

Riewoldt's Team Rampage also has a suitable mix of inside and outside ball winners, with vice-captain Patrick Cripps to ride shotgun with Rory Sloane, Dayne Zorko and Isaac Smith in the midfield.

Geelong was the first team to reach the four-player limit per club (Dangerfield, Hawkins, Tim Kelly and Blicavs) in the third round of drafting, while the Giants (Lachie Whitfield, Jeremy Cameron, Phil Davis and Coniglio) reached the restriction in the fifth round. 

Hawthorn (Shaun Burgoyne, Chad Wingard, Luke Breust and Isaac Smith), Collingwood (Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Stephenson, Travis Varcoe) and Essendon (Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti, Michael Hurley, Shiel and McGrath) were the other teams to reach the limit of four players per club. 

The AFLX tournament will take place at Marvel Stadium on Friday February 22 from 7pm AEDT.

A highlight of the night is sure to be the Gatorade game changer role which sees one nominated player from each side's points worth double in the last five minutes of each match.

The four teams are competing for a prize pool of $50,000, with $30,000 given to the nominated charity of the winner, $10,000 to the runner-up and $5,000 each to the other two teams.   

Team Deadly are playing for the Indigenous Literacy Foundation, Team Bolts for Variety SA, Team Rampage for Maddie’s Vision and Team Flyers for the Royal Flying Doctor Service.   



Defender: Joel Hamling
Defender: Jarrod Harbrow
Midfielder: Tim Kelly
Wing: Bradley Hill
Wing: Lewis Jetta
Ruck: Cameron Ellis-Yolmen
Forward: Chad Wingard
Forward: Steven May


Defender: Robbie Tarrant
Defender: Luke Hodge
Midfielder: Patrick Dangerfield
Wing: Andrew Gaff
Wing: Steele Sidebottom
Ruck: Mark Blicavs
Forward: Tom Hawkins
Forward: Robbie Gray


Defender: Rory Laird
Defender: Alex Rance
Midfielder: Josh Kennedy
Wing: Stephen Coniglio
Wing: Scott Pendlebury
Ruck: Marcus Bontempelli
Forward: Isaac Heeney
Forward: Jeremy Cameron


Defender: Phil Davis
Defender: Lachie Whitfield
Midfielder: Patrick Cripps
Wing: Dayne Zorko
Wing: Isaac Smith
Ruck: Tom McDonald
Forward: Jack Riewoldt
Forward: Luke Breust

Adelaide Eddie Betts Rory Sloane Rory Laird Cameron Ellis-Yolmen
Brisbane Luke Hodge Dayne Zorko Daniel Rich  
Carlton Patrick Cripps Zac Fisher    
Collingwood Scott Pendlebury Steele Sidebottom Travis Varcoe Jaidyn Stephenson
Essendon Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti Andrew McGrath Dylan Shiel Michael Hurley
Fremantle Nat Fyfe Bradley Hill Joel Hamling  
Geelong Patrick Dangerfield Tom Hawkins Tim Kelly Mark Blicavs
Gold Coast Jarrod Harbrow      
Greater Western Sydney Lachie Whitfield Jeremy Cameron Phil Davis Stephen Coniglio
Hawthorn Shaun Burgoyne Chad Wingard Isaac Smith Luke Breust
Melbourne Steven May Tom McDonald    
North Melbourne Shaun Higgins Robbie Tarrant    
Port Adelaide Robbie Gray Travis Boak Sam Powell-Pepper  
Richmond Jack Riewoldt Alex Rance Jack Higgins  
St Kilda Jack Billings Tim Membrey Jack Steele  
Sydney Isaac Heeney Luke Parker Aliir Aliir Josh Kennedy
West Coast Andrew Gaff Lewis Jetta Willie Rioli  
Western Bulldogs Marcus Bontempelli Easton Wood Lachie Hunter