Stephen Mount is Richmond’s next Homecoming Hero for the 2017 season.

The Tigers will pay tribute to their 1980 premiership centre half-back during the pre-game build-up at this Sunday’s Round 18 clash with Greater Western Sydney at the MCG.

Mount was recruited by Richmond from Tasmanian club Sandy Bay, where he had made his senior debut at just 16 years of age.

He spent a season with Richmond’s under-19s in 1978 before breaking into the Tigers’ senior line-up the following year.

Initially, Mount played as a forward at Tigerland, but late in the 1980 season he was moved to centre half-back as a replacement for Jim Jess, who shifted to centre half-forward.

Mount was a valuable contributor at centre half-back throughout Richmond’s September campaign that year, culminating in the Grand Final demolition of Collingwood.

He had 15 disposals, took three marks, and was rock-solid in defence right throughout the 1980 premiership-decider.

With his strong marking, kicking skills, tackling ability and reading of the play, Mount was ideally suited to the key defensive post in the Richmond side.

Although Mount’s time with the Tigers was relatively brief, the fact he played his role so well in the Club’s glorious 1980 premiership triumph, means he will always be warmly received by the Yellow and Black faithful.

Stephen Mount profile

Born: 5/3/1960
Height: 187cm
Playing weight: 86kg
Recruited from: Sandy Bay (Tasmania)
Guernsey number at Richmond: No. 6
Debut at Richmond: Round 1, 1979 v South Melbourne, Lake Oval
Games at Richmond (1979-1982): 31
Goals at Richmond: 9

Here is a list of Richmond's Homecoming Heroes since 2014...

2014, Rd 2: Michael Green2014, Rd 4: Kevin Bartlett2014, Rd 6: Bryan Wood
2014, Rd 13: Kevin Morris2014, Rd 14: Wayne Walsh2014, Rd 16: Barry Richardson
2014, Rd 19: Rex Hunt2014, Rd 20: Francis Bourke2015, Rd 2: Bill Barrot
2015, Rd 5: Andrew Kellaway2015, Rd 7: Mark Lee2015, Rd 9: Derek Peardon 
2015, R12: Dale Weightman2015, R15: Matthew Richardson2015, R17: Dick Clay
2015, R20: Barry Rowlings2016, R6: Matthew Rogers2016, R7: Jake King
2016, R8: Nick Daffy2016, R12: Nathan Foley2016, R14: Dan Jackson 
2016, R17: Scott Turner2016, R20: Jim Jess2016, R21: John Ronaldson
2016, R22: Graeme Bond2017, R2: Roger Dean  2017, R3: Richard Clay
2017, R8: Mick Malthouse2017, R10: Michael Mitchell2017, R13: Shane Tuck
2017, R14: Paul Broderick2017, R18: Stephen Mount