A Friday night blockbuster season opener against Carlton and two home games at the Swinburne Centre, Punt Road Oval, headline Richmond’s inaugural AFL Women's season.

The 2020 AFLW fixture was released this afternoon, with the Tigers set to kick off the history-making season with a home game against the Blues at Ikon Park on Friday, February 7.

The cross-conference clash will be Richmond's first game in the AFLW competition and pit them against last season's grand finalists.

MEMBERSHIP Become one of the Club's first inaugural Women's Football Foundation members

The Tigers will host North Melbourne Tasmania and Brisbane at the Club's spiritual home of Punt Road Oval during the season, with another home game against Geelong at Bendigo's Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Richmond CEO Brendon Gale welcomed the fixture and is especially excited about the historic opportunity to launch the season.

“The release of the AFLW 2020 fixture further adds to the great excitement and anticipation that already exists at Tigerland with regards to our team’s inaugural season in the competition,” Gale said.

AFLW DRAFT Tesoriero excited by AFLW Draft haul

“To kick off against Richmond’s arch-rival Carlton makes this historic night even more special. It is a Richmond home game and we know the Tiger Army will fill the ground and make this a truly memorable occasion.

“We can’t wait to see the AFLW Tigers embark on their journey in the famous Yellow and Black colours.

“I am sure they will do us all very proud.”

FULL FIXTURE See when and where Richmond AFLW is playing in 2020

Richmond travel interstate on three occasions during the 2020 season, with trips to the Gold Coast, Wagga Wagga (to face GWS) and Adelaide.

The Tigers have been added to Conference A alongside Gold Coast, North Melbourne, Geelong, GWS, Brisbane and Adelaide.


Adelaide (first in A in 2019, premiers)
North Melbourne (third in A in 2019)
Geelong (second in B in 2019)
Greater Western Sydney (third in B in 2019)
Brisbane (fourth in B in 2019)
Gold Coast (new team)
Richmond (new team)


Fremantle (second in A in 2019)
Melbourne (fourth in A in 2019)
Western Bulldogs (fifth in A in 2019)
Carlton (first in B in 2019)
Collingwood (fifth in B in 2019)
St Kilda (new team)
West Coast (new team)