Rhyan Mansell will become the latest in a long line of Tasmanians to play at the game’s highest level with Richmond.

The triple North Launceston premiership player has been selected to make his AFL debut for the Tigers in Friday night’s Round 4 clash with Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval.

02:10 Mins
Published on

Two Tigers set to debut

Will Martyn and Rhyan Mansell are told they will play their first AFL match against Port Adelaide.

Published on

Richmond has a rich Tasmanian heritage, with some of the Club’s all-time greats having started their playing careers in the Apple Isle.

The team below contains players originally from Tassie who have plied their football trade at Tigerland, in my time as a Yellow and Black barracker throughout the past half-century.

It’s an awesome line-up, undoubtedly unmatched by any other’s AFL club’s similar side consisting of Tasmanian players.

00:00 Mins
Published on

Tasmanian tall timber

Watch highlights of the four Tasmanian Richmond leading goalkicker award winners.

Published on

The terrific team of Tassie Tigers is . . .

B: Chris Bond, Grant Allford, Darryl Sutton

HB: Cameron Clayton, Stephen Mount, Ben Harrison

C: Michael Gale, Ian Stewart, Shane Williams

HF: Matthew Richardson, Royce Hart, Jack Riewoldt

F: Trent Nichols, Michael Roach, Brendon Gale

R: Toby Nankervis, Paul Sproule, Noel Carter

IC: Justin Plapp, Derek Peardon, Mark McQueen, Gary Davidson

To underline the vast talent within this team of Tassie Tigers, here is a rundown of the key honours and awards many of the players attained during their time with Richmond at the game’s highest level.

00:00 Mins
Published on

MCG memories: Hart's 1967 hanger

Royce Hart's amazing mark in the frenetic final stages of the '67 Grand Final.

Published on

Richmond premiership players – Royce Hart (1967, 1969, 1973, 1974), Paul Sproule (1973, 1974), Ian Stewart (1973), Noel Carter (1973), Cameron Clayton (1974), Michael Roach (1980), Stephen Mount (1980), Jack Riewoldt (2017, 2019, 2020) and Toby Nankervis (2017, 2019, 2020).

Jack Dyer Medallists – Royce Hart (1969, 1972), Ian Stewart (1971), Chris Bond (1994), Matthew Richardson (2007) and Jack Riewoldt (2010, 2018).

Richmond leading goalkicker award winners – Royce Hart (1967, 1971), Michael Roach (1979, 1980, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1987), Matthew Richardson (1994, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008), Jack Riewoldt (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020).

Brownlow Medal winners – Ian Stewart (1971).

150-game-plus Richmond players – Jack Riewoldt (286), Matthew Richardson (282), Brendon Gale (244), Michael Roach (200), Royce Hart (187).

00:00 Mins
Published on

Ian Stewart highlights

Watch highlights from Richmond great, Ian Stewart.

Published on

Game Day Hub

Everything you need to know ahead of Friday's Round 4 clash against Port Adelaide.