Tony Free has resigned as a Richmond director.

Free recently informed the Board that increasing commitments away from football meant the time was right for him to step away.

A former Club captain and two-time Jack Dyer Medallist, Free has spent more than eight years as a Board member.

“I thank Tony on behalf of members for his commitment over a long period of time. He has demonstrated how much this Club means to him both as a player and around the Board table,” Richmond President Peggy O’Neal said.

“We will undoubtedly see him at the football and it goes without saying that he will always remain a valued member of the Richmond family. The entire Board wishes him, his wife Paula and his family, the very best for the future.”

The Club’s Nominations Committee will interview potential candidates and, based on skill requirements, make a recommendation to the Board to fill the casual vacancy in the New Year.

People wanting more information can contact company secretary Michael Stahl on The full Nominations Committee Charter can be found on the Club’s website under the ‘Club’ menu item.

In other board news, O’Neal confirmed members would be asked to vote on changes to the Club’s constitution at the December 14 Annual General Meeting.

The Board has accepted a Governance Committee recommendation that director tenure limits be put in place. The constitutional amendments would see directors limited to three terms.

As part of the transition, current directors who are beyond three terms will serve out their current term but then not be eligible to serve as a director again.

The Governance Committee also recommended limiting the President to two terms in that role. A full explanation of all proposed amendments will be included with the notice of the AGM.

“Director term limits vary significantly across the AFL, and in business more broadly. The Club’s Governance Committee has been considering this for almost two years and the Board has accepted the recommendation that term limits be introduced and that will now be put to members,” O’Neal said.

The Board also confirmed an election will be held with Board incumbents Kerry Ryan and Emmett Dunne standing for re-election. Simon Wallace and Peter Casey have also nominated for the two positions.