Recently retired defender David Astbury has been named the 2021 recipient of the highly esteemed Francis Bourke Award.

Astbury received the honour at tonight’s virtual Jack Dyer Medal event.

The Francis Bourke Award, named in honour of Richmond’s five-time premiership hero and Club 'immortal', is determined by current Richmond players.

Each week throughout the season, the playing group cast votes on a 3-2-1 basis for the players that best uphold their trademark values.

Astbury was noted for his continued ability to compete throughout games and on the training track, his selfless team-first play and 2 v 1 contest work to cover for teammates.

The 30-year-old has recently been described as the "ultimate Richmond Man," making it fitting he has concluded his career with the Club’s top peer-voted honour.

When asked to describe their retiring triple-premiership teammate, Richmond players used words such as "Reliable, Tough, Driven, Caring and Fun" to describe Astbury.

Astbury follows recent winners Kane Lambert, Jack Graham, Alex Rance, and Dylan Grimes.

16:35 Mins
Published on

Astbury announces his retirement

Dave Astbury announces his retirement to the playing group.

Published on

In other awards at tonight’s virtual presentation, Bachar Houli received his third David Mandie Community Award.

Throughout 2021, Houli again made an incredible impact in the community, giving up countless hours to support young people face-to-face, online and with regular check-in phone calls.

Over 1,000 guests attended Bachar Houli Foundation Iftar events, helping to celebrate Islamic culture in the football community, while the Foundation’s programs continued to impact Muslim youth nationally.

The sale of Houli’s 2017 match-worn premiership guernsey, one of the admired defender’s most treasured possessions, raised over $30,000 for orphaned children in Palestine.

Jack Riewoldt received his 11th Michael Roach Leading Goalkicker Award in the past 12 years.

The 300-gamer had an outstanding season for the Tigers, booting 51 goals to finish third in the Coleman Medal.

Riewoldt edged out Tom Lynch (35), Shai Bolton (23) and Jake Aarts (18) for the award.

After making his highly anticipated debut in 2021, young midfielder Riley Collier-Dawkins was named the Bill Cosgrove/Harry Jenkins Best First-Year Player.

Collier-Dawkins, 21, averaged 14.6 disposals and 3.5 tackles from nine AFL games this season, including a standout 18 possession and two-goal game in a narrow win against the Giants in Round 9.

Another young midfielder, Will Martyn capped off an outstanding season with Richmond’s VFL team, by being crowned the Club’s Best and Fairest.

Martyn, 20, played in all 10 games at VFL level this year, pulling together a near faultless season.

The second-year Tiger became a leader for the inexperienced Richmond midfield, with his ability to win the contested and uncontested ball a highlight.

Martyn averaged 26 disposals, four clearances, nine tackles and four inside 50’s per game.

He was rewarded with three AFL matches, including his debut in Round 4 against Port Adelaide.