Richmond trio Liam Baker, Dylan Grimes and Toby Nankervis have been named as the Club's nominees for the 2021 AFL Players’ Association Most Valuable Player Award.

The three Tigers were nominated by their playing peers for the annual award, and are now in contention to claim the coveted Leigh Matthews Trophy. 

Baker's versatility saw him become the ultimate 'Mr Fixit' for Richmond in 2021. The 23-year-old played every game this year, excelling in a multitude of roles as the Tigers dealt with injuries to key players. 

A two-time premiership player, Baker averaged 20.3 disposals, 8.1 contested possessions, 9.5 handballs, three inside-50s and four score involvements per game across his 22 outings.

The tenacious defender has also been nominated for the competition's Most Courageous for the second year in a row. 

Grimes was also recognised by his teammates following another consistent season. 

The 30-year-old was again a vital cog in the Tigers' defensive unit, leading Richmond's back six and showcasing his elite lockdown ability and intercept expertise.

Playing every game but one this year, the reliable backman averaged 7.6 intercept possessions, 2.5 intercept marks and 5.8 one percenters per game.

Grimes has now been nominated for the MVP award for the second time, after also receiving the nod in 2019, the same year in which he was voted the AFL's Most Courageous player. 

Nankervis' importance to Richmond's line-up was further outlined in 2021.

After being sidelined for five games mid-season, the tough Tiger had an immediate impact upon return in Round 18. 

The triple premiership ruckman finished the season having played 16 games, averaging 16.7 disposals, 22.5 hit-outs, 4.3 clearances and 16.6 pressure acts. 

The 2021 MVP Awards will be held on Thursday, September 2.

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner.

Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.

Richmond's other nominees for AFLPA Awards are Rhyan Mansell for Best First Year player, and Trent Cotchin for the League's Best Captain.

Rhyan Mansell in action for Richmond during the Round 20 match against Fremantle

The 2021 MVP Awards will be held on Thursday, September 2.

Richmond's 2021 AFLPA Awards nominees

MVP: Liam Baker, Dylan Grimes, Toby Nankervis

Most Courageous: Liam Baker

Best First Year: Rhyan Mansell

Captain: Trent Cotchin