Richmond VFL's Round 1 fixture has been locked in, with the remaining home and away match-ups for the 2022 season also confirmed. 

The AFL released the fixture for the 2022 VFL season on Tuesday afternoon, with the Tigers set to host the Southport Sharks at the Swinburne Centre on Sunday, March 27.

Kicking off at 11.35am AEDT, the clash will be the first time the two sides have met in VFL history. 

The largest second-tier football competition in the country returns after two COVID-disrupted seasons and for the second-year running will feature teams from Victoria, New South Wales and Queensland.

21 teams will play 18 games each in a 22-round home-and-away season. A final eight will contest a four-week finals series, culminating in the 2022 VFL Grand Final on the weekend of 17/18 September.

Tickets to all VFL matches throughout the home-and-away season are available at the gate. Adults are $10, concession $5 and children under 15 are free.

Click here for 2022 VFL Round One fixture and match-ups for the full season

VFL broadcast partner the Seven Network will show a weekly game plus finals, live and free on 7 in Victoria and 7Plus nationally. Fans can catch up from anywhere around the nation on 7plus. All VFL matches in 2022 will be live streamed and available on demand via the AFL website and AFL Live Official App.

Round One broadcast arrangements will be confirmed closer to the season.

While COVID-19 continues to impact the community, the health and welfare of all involved remains the priority and all matches will operate in a safe manner based on advice of respective governments, public health officials and medical experts. Protocols designed to protect those involved in the VFL have been communicated to clubs.

Like most football competitions across Victoria last year, the VFL 2021 season was called off prematurely, with no premier awarded because of the COVID situation and government restrictions. With the 2020 season cancelled, the last VFL premiership was won by Richmond in 2019.

2022 VFL Clubs

AFL-aligned clubs (14)

Box Hill Hawks
Brisbane Lions
Casey Demons
Gold Coast Suns
GWS Giants
North Melbourne
Sydney Swans

Standalone clubs (7)

Northern Bullants
Port Melbourne
Southport Sharks