Dan Butler and Shaun Grigg celebrate a goal in Round 1, 2017.

The arrival at Richmond of star midfielder Jacob Hopper from Greater Western Sydney in the recent AFL trade period further strengthens the Tigers’ long-time link to St Patrick’s College, Ballarat.

Hopper is a proud product of St Pat’s having captained the college’s football team to its sixth successive Herald Sun Shield in 2015.

One of his teammates in the side that defeated Essendon Keilor College to win the prestigious title was Daniel Rioli, who he’ll now be renewing acquaintances with at Tigerland.

Richmond’s bond with St Pat’s Ballarat goes all the way back to Maurie Sheahan, the Club’s star full-back during the 1930s.

Sheahan, who attended the college, formed part of the Tigers’ legendary “Three Musketeers” backline of (Martin) Bolger, Sheahan and (Kevin) O’Neill.

He was a dual premiership player with Richmond, in 1932 and 1934.

All-up, there have been five Tigers from St Pat’s who have played in Yellow and Black premiership sides, for an overall total of 10 premierships.


Here, in alphabetical order, is the list of Richmond players who went to St Patrick’s College, Ballarat . . .

Ray Ball: 12 games, 1969-70.

Dan Butler: 45 games, 2015-19. Member of the 2017 premiership team.

Tristan Cartledge: 2 games, 2008.

Frank Dimattina: 42 games, 1964-68.

Sid Dockendorff: 13 games, 1932-33.

Frank Drum: 2 games, 1950.

Matthew Francis: 19 games, 1990-95.

Josh Gibcus: 18 games, 2022.

Shaun Grigg: 171 games, 2011-18. Member of the 2017 premiership team.

Gerry Hayes: 16 games, 1936-37.

Kevin Hogan: 15 games, 1952-53.

Frank Howard: 8 games, 1943, 1948.

Basil Moloney: 21 games, 1961-63.

Barry Richardson: 125 games, 1965-74. Member of the 1967, 1969 and 1974 premiership teams.

Daniel Rioli: 137 games, 2016-22. Member of the 2017, 2019 and 2020 premiership teams.

John Sheahan: 17 games, 1962, 1965-66.

Maurie Sheahan: 121 games, 1929-36. Member of the 1932 and 1934 premiership teams.

Tom Simpson: 126 games, 1956-63.

Ian Slockwitch: 2 games, 1961.