will stream the 2019 Jack Dyer Medal event from Crown Palladium, live from approximately 7pm on Tuesday, October 1.

The event will determine Richmond's best player from the premiership-winning 2019 season, as well as a host of other awards and entertainment.

Immediately after the event, and in the days following, you can see all the videos of the main speeches, a red carpet special, photo gallery, plus all the other highlights from the night on Richmond's website, mobile app and social media channels.


7.00pm - Event begins with highlights package and MC's welcome
7.10pm - Address from President, Peggy O’Neal
7.15pm - Address from captain Trent Cotchin, and presentation of premiership-winning 2019 team
7.30pm - Address from Senior Coach, Damien Hardwick
7.35pm - Presentation of VWFL team and Best & Fairest
7.40pm - VFLW Best & Fairest
7.50pm - Guinane Medal, VFL Best & Fairest
8.02pm - Round 1 – 8 votes
8.15pm - Main meal break
8.45pm - Presentation to retired players
8.50pm - Player panel discussion
9.05pm - Bill Cosgrove/Harry Jenkins Best First Year Player Award
9.10pm - David Mandie Community Award
9.15pm - Round 9 – 16 votes
9.25pm - Dessert break
9.55pm - Michael Roach Leading Goalkicker Award
10.10pm - Francis Bourke Award
10.20pm - Round 17 – GF votes
10.30pm - Announce 10th – 6th
10.35pm - Announce Top 5, with winners' speeches and toast to the Jack Dyer Medallist
11.00pm - Formalities conclude


Jack Dyer Medal – 1st 
The inaugural Richmond Best and Fairest was awarded to Bill Mahoney in 1911, but in 1964 the name of the award was changed in honour of Jack Dyer, the man acclaimed as the greatest Tiger of all.

Jack Dyer is the most decorated player in Richmond Best and Fairest history, winning six Club champion awards, including four in-a-row from 1937 to 1940. 

Since 1964, there have been 11 multiple Jack Dyer Medallists, including Kevin Bartlett, who won five, Wayne Campbell, who won four, and Geoff Raines and Trent Cotchin, who have won three.

Other dual Jack Dyer Medallists include Royce Hart, Maurice Rioli, Dale Weightman, Tony Free, Matthew Knights, Joel Bowden, Brett Deledio, Dustin Martin and Jack Riewoldt.

Jack Titus Medal – 2nd 
The Jack Titus Medal is named after the Tigers’ dual best and fairest, dual premiership player, coach and hall of fame member.

Maurie Fleming Medal – 3rd 
The Maurie Fleming Medal is named after Richmond’s long-time administrator, who served as president from 1958 to 1963.

Fred Swift Medal – 4th 
The Fred Swift Medal is named after Richmond’s 1967 premiership captain, who played 146 games in the 1950s and 60s.

Kevin Bartlett Medal – 5th 
The Kevin Bartlett Medal is named after the Richmond Immortal, who won the Jack Dyer Medal five times over a stellar 403-game career.

Francis Bourke Award
The Francis Bourke Award recognises the player who embodies the team’s trademarks of awareness, relentless, disciplined and united, and is voted on a 3, 2, 1 basis by the playing group each week of the season.

Michael Roach Leading Goalkicker Award
This award is named after Richmond Hall of Fame member, Michael Roach.

Michael Roach is a seven-time Richmond leading goalkicker, and one of only two players in the Club’s history to kick 100 goals in a season. This award is presented to the player who has kicked the most goals for the Tigers during the season.

Guinane Medal, VFL Best & Fairest
The Guinane medal is named after the most prominent father-son combination in the Club’s history - Paddy Guinane and his father Dan.

Dan Guinane, a 179cm, 100kg defender, played 103 senior games with the Tigers from 1934-39 and 1942-43.  He was a member of the Richmond side that lost the 1942 Grand Final to Essendon. In 1940-41, Guinane was playing coach of the Richmond reserves.
His son, Patrick, a 191cm, 95.5kg, key forward, played 146 games and kicked 216 goals for the Tigers in a career spanning 11 seasons, from 1958-68. ‘Paddy’ Guinane was vice-captain of Richmond’s drought-breaking 1967 premiership team and twice won the Club’s leading goalkicker award (1966 and 1968). Paddy also coached the Tigers’ under-19s in 1978-79 and then the reserves in 1980-81, before serving as a Club Board member from 1985-87, and again in 1989.

Bill Cosgrove/Harry Jenkins Best First Year Player Award
This award is named in honour of former Richmond player Bill Cosgrove, and influential Richmond talent recruiter, Harry Jenkins. Bill Cosgrove played for the Tigers before enlisting in the RAAF during World War 2, where was sadly killed in action. The Bill Cosgrove/Harry Jenkins Award is presented to the best first year player at the Richmond Football Club.

To be eligible for the Jenkins/Cosgrove Medal for Best First Year Player, the player:
•    Must be younger than 21 years of age on 1 January of the award year; and
•    Must play his first AFL game with the Club.
•    An eligible player who finishes in the highest position in the Jack Dyer medal will be awarded the Jenkins/Cosgrove Medal

David Mandie Community Award
This award was created in honour of our former number one ticketholder and great Richmond supporter, David Mandie, who was also widely acknowledged for his outstanding philanthropic support of the broader community.

The winner of this award must:
-    Contribute to both Club community partners, and other community based organisations
-    Show compassion and empathy towards disadvantaged and underprivileged people
-    Demonstrate a willingness to learn about different community groups, including Indigenous & Multicultural; and
-    Show integrity and leadership throughout the Club and community