Richmond champion Dustin Martin is making his move in the 2020 AFL Coaches’ Association’s Champion Player of the Year award.

Martin, who won the prestigious award in 2017, has polled 17 votes in the past two games – seven against GWS, Round 8, followed by a perfect 10 v Western Bulldogs, Round 9, after racking up 26 disposals, 14 contested possessions, eight inside-50s, four clearances, nine score involvements, 430 metres gained and kicking three superb goals in the Tigers’ 41-point win.

02:26 Mins
Published on

Round 9: Martin mesmerises Metricon after outrageous outing

Dustin Martin turns on beast mode with an absolutely devastating display against the Dogs.

Published on

Emerging, exciting, young Yellow and Black key defender Noah Balta received four votes for his impressive efforts throughout the match. He had 15 disposals, an equal game-high five rebound-50s, equal game-high nine intercepts and equal team-high six one-percenters.

Speedy, skilful small Tiger defender Jayden Short also picked up four votes for his fine display on the night – 21 disposals, five rebound-50s, six intercepts, seven marks and a game-high 511 metres gained.

Inspirational Richmond captain Trent Cotchin was rewarded with three votes for the impact he had in his first game back from a three-week lay-off because of a hamstring injury. Cotchin had 17 disposals, three clearances, three intercepts, five score involvements and six tackles.

03:37 Mins
Published on

Round 9: Bolton and Cotchin post-match

Shai Bolton and Trent Cotchin chat to the media following the Round 9 win over the Western Bulldogs.

Published on

Rounding out the Richmond Round 9 vote-getters in the coaches’ award were Shai Bolton (two votes) and Dylan Grimes (one vote).

The full voting details for the Round 9 Richmond v Western Bulldogs match are:

10 – Dustin Martin (Richmond)

4 – Noah Balta (Richmond)

4 – Jayden Short (Richmond)

3 – Trent Cotchin (Richmond)

3 – Caleb Daniel (Western Bulldogs)

3 – Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs)

2 – Shai Bolton (Richmond)

1 – Dylan Grimes (Richmond)