Shai Bolton, Dustin Martin and Nick Vlastuin are in contention to claim the 2020 AFL Players’ Association MVP Award after being confirmed as Richmond's three peer-voted nominees for the coveted Leigh Matthews Trophy on Thursday afternoon.

Bolton, who was also named in the Association's 2020 22under22 squad, has been a revelation in Richmond’s midfield this season, averaging 16.1 disposals, 3.2 marks, 3.5 clearances and 2.9 tackles across 15 games.

Martin, a winner of the MVP Award in 2017, has maintained a high-level of performance in 2020, averaging 20 disposals, 3.6 clearances, 5 inside-50s and 343.5 metres gained over 15 games, and is the Club's leader in the AFL Coaches’ Association Champion Player of the Year award.

Vlastuin seems on track for an inaugural All-Australian blazer this year, averaging 14.4 disposals, 5.8 marks, 4.1 rebound-50s, 7.4 intercepts and 270.7 metres gained per match so far this season.

03:07 Mins
Published on

Teammates celebrate Vlastuin's 150

As Nick Vlastuin plays his 150th game, we hear from his fellow teammates in celebration.

Published on

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner.

Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.

Richmond's other nominees for AFLPA Awards are Liam Baker for the competition's Most Courageous, Thomson Dow for Best First Year player, and Trent Cotchin for the League's Best Captain.

Three awards – Most Courageous, Best Captain and Best First Year – will be announced in line with #22Under22 on September 22, while the AFLPA MVP Award will be announced on September 24.

Richmond's 2020 AFLPA Awards nominees

MVP: Shai Bolton, Dustin Martin, Nick Vlastuin

Most Courageous: Liam Baker

Best First Year: Thomson Dow

Captain: Trent Cotchin