There was no Grand Final match this season.

The Premiership was decided by the team that had the best record across the 16 Association Matches.

If two teams were tied on top of the ladder at season’s end, a playoff match for the premiership would take place.

Going into the final round, Richmond and Port Melbourne were both on 14 wins.

However, Port Melbourne lost to Williamstown, and when Richmond 7.10.52 defeated Prahran 3.9.27, the Premiership was ours.

Richmond incredibly finished the season with 15 wins and 1 loss.

The Argus – Sept 1, 1902:
For many weeks past a play-off for the association premiership has appeared a certainty, but the downfall of Port Melbourne on Saturday left Richmond alone on top, and there is no need for any further play. The programme of the association clubs was finished on Saturday, and Richmond for the first time in the history of the club are premiers. For 20 years the yellow and black flag has braved the battle and the breeze, and now it floats triumphantly at the head of the staff, and with it next year will fly the pennant for 1902.

Players for Richmond that year:
Charles Backhouse, Chris Bahen, George Bownas, Jack Cathie, William Carkeek, Alfred Davidson, James Douglas, R Duncan, Alec Edmonds, Tom Gault, Percy Gibb, Patrick Joseph Gibney, Tim Hardiman, K. Hardy, George Johnson, Ernie Justins, Edward Main, Jack Main, (first name unknown) Manning, William McCance, Ernest McDonald, Archibald McNair, Richard Pirrie, Archie Richardson, Ernest Rudd, Charles Taylor, Dave Watson, Charlie Williams, (first name unknown) Wilson.

1902 newspaper
Click to enlarge