Main content

Martin moves ahead

Round 14: Dusty dazzles Blues Highlights of Dustin Martin's Round 14 match against Carlton.

Brilliant Richmond midfielder Dustin Martin has rocketed to the lead in the AFL Coaches Association’s Player of the Year award on the back of another ‘perfect’ performance this season.

Martin’s dynamic display in Richmond’s Round 14 win against Carlton at the MCG last Sunday earned him the maximum 10 votes from rival coaches Damien Hardwick (Tigers) and Brendon Bolton (Blues), and took his overall tally in the prestigious award to 63 – one ahead of Geelong’s Patrick Dangerfield on 62, with West Coast’s Elliot Yeo third on 57.

It was the fifth time this season that Martin has polled 10 votes in the prestigious coaches’ award.

He had an immense impact in the Tigers’ 26-point victory over the Blues, finishing with an equal game-high 30 disposals, including a team-high 16 contested possessions, game-high 14 score involvements, equal game-high seven inside-50s, team-high six clearances, plus six marks and game-high 564 metres gained.

Kane Lambert’s improvement this season was further underlined, with him receiving five votes for his valuable contribution to the Yellow and Black cause on Sunday – 26 disposals, six marks, five clearances, five inside-50s, 12 score involvements, one goal, six tackles, 21 pressure acts and 398 metres gained.

Star Richmond key defender Alex Rance again featured prominently in the coaches’ votes, picking up four following a trademark, top-class exhibition across the Tigers’ backline – 17 disposals, including 10 contested possessions, three marks, four tackles and a game-high 13 intercepts.

Richmond’s other Round 14 vote-getter in the AFLCA award was consistent performer Shaun Grigg.

The hard-running midfielder was given three votes for another solid showing that netted him 26 disposals, a game-high 12 marks, nine score involvements, seven inside-50s, four tackles and 360 metres gained.   


Full voting details for the Round 14 Richmond v Carlton match are . . .

10 – Dustin Martin (Richmond)

5 – Matthew Kreuzer (Carlton)

5 – Kane Lambert (Richmond)

4 – Alex Rance (Richmond)

3 – Patrick Cripps (Carlton)

3 – Shaun Grigg (Richmond)