Main content

Tigers dominate coaches’ votes

Round 7: Lambert's running pays off Highlights of Kane Lambert's Round 7 match against Fremantle.

The evenness of Richmond’s performance against Fremantle at the MCG last Saturday was highlighted in the AFL Coaches’ Association’s Player of the Year voting for Round 7.

Six Tigers featured in the votes cast by rival coaches Damien Hardwick (Richmond) and Ross Lyon (Fremantle), with the Dockers’ captain Nat Fyfe receiving the maximum 10.

Quality midfielder Kane Lambert and brilliant key defender Alex Rance were Richmond’s top vote-getters, with seven apiece.

Lambert finished the match with 25 disposals, including 11 contested possessions, six marks, four clearances, an equal game-high 11 score involvements, two goals and 315 metres gained.

Rance had 20 disposals, with nine contested possessions, took eight marks (seven intercept grabs), had a game-high 16 intercepts and four score involvements.

Ever-reliable backman Dylan Grimes and dynamic midfielder Dustin Martin both picked up two votes.

Grimes had 15 disposals, took six marks (four intercept grabs), had eight intercepts and six score involvements.

Martin had a team-high 26 disposals, eight inside-50s, four tackles, an equal game-high 11 score involvements, 389 metres gained and took six marks.

Rounding out the Round 7 coaches’ votes for the Tigers were talented, young midfielder Jack Graham and valuable, veteran rebounding defender Bachar Houli.

Graham was given one vote for his impressive showing – 24 disposals, five marks, six intercepts, a game-high seven tackles, nine score involvements, one goal and 394 metres gained.

Houli also polled one vote for a trademark, top, hard-running exhibition – 22 disposals, five rebound-50s, five marks, seven score involvements and 425 metres gained. 

Full voting details for the Round 7 Richmond v Fremantle match are . . .

10 – Nat Fyfe (Fremantle)

7 – Kane Lambert (Richmond)

7 – Alex Rance (Richmond)

2 – Dylan Grimes (Richmond)

2 – Dustin Martin (Richmond)

1 – Jack Graham (Richmond)

1 – Bachar Houli (Richmond)