Richmond VFL coach Craig McRae has been awarded VFL Coach of the Year at the VFL Best and Fairest night on Monday.

McRae has steered the VFL Tigers to another outstanding season, which included a second consecutive minor premiership.

The highly-rated coach, who was a triple premiership player at Brisbane, worked as a development coach at Richmond from 2007 to 2009 before returning to Tigerland at the end of 2015.

Throughout 2019, he has continued to be a driving force behind the tight-knit culture that exists within Richmond’s VFL program.

His coaching prowess has been evident throughout Richmond VFL’s success this year, with the Tigers finishing three games clear on top of the ladder.

View this post on Instagram

After an incredible season in charge, Fly has been named the 2019 VFL Coach Of The Year #gotiges

A post shared by Richmond VFL (@richmondvfl) on

Richmond defensive pair Daniel Coffield and Hugh Beasley were also named in the VFL Team of the Year on Monday night.

It was the first time the duo, who are both a part of Richmond VFL’s leadership group, have featured in the side.

Coffield, 23, has been named in the back pocket in recognition of his fine form in 2019.

The reliable intercept defender, who has been a part of Richmond’s VFL program since 2016, has featured in 18 outings so far this season.

Beasley, also 23, has been named at full-back. He produced a stellar season after missing most of 2018 with a knee injury.

The strong-bodied key defender has been a vital cog in the Tigers’ backline this year, averaging 13 disposals, seven contested possessions and three marks per game.

The VFL Tigers’ finals campaign continues this Saturday when they come up against Port Melbourne in a preliminary final at Adcon Stadium.

Earlier in the evening, Tom Hunter was named the 2019 VFLW Coach of the Year.