Richmond superstar Dustin Martin has added another accolade to his glittering playing resume after winning the AFL Coaches' Association's Gary Ayres Award for a third time.

Collingwood's Steele Sidebottom (2018) and Sydney's Josh Kennedy (2016) are the only other two players to have won the award since its inception in 2016.

Martin trailed Geelong's Mitch Duncan by one vote heading into the Grand Final but he scored a perfect 10 votes from coaches Damien Hardwick and Chris Scott to run away with the win.

04:18 Mins
Published on

GF: Dusty writes history with astounding third Norm

Dustin Martin could just be the greatest finals player we've ever seen after this absolutely freakish Grand Final performance that won him a third Norm Smith Medal.

Published on

Duncan was judged Geelong's best player in the decider, earning three votes from the coaches.

Hawthorn great Gary Ayres, one of three players to have won two Norm Smith Medals behind Martin's three, congratulated Martin on another brilliant finals campaign.

"Again he seized the big moments and delivered when his team needed him. He often looks to bring his teammates into the game which is a great characteristic," Ayres said.

"Dustin has kicked 26 goals in finals matches, where the pressure makes goal kicking even more difficult. Well done."

2020 AFL Grand Final

10 Dustin Martin (RICH)
8 Jayden Short (RICH)
5 Shane Edwards (RICH)
3 Mitch Duncan (GEEL)
3 Tom Stewart (GEEL)
1 Shai Bolton (RICH)

Gary Ayres Award final leaderboard

28 Dustin Martin (RICH)
22 Mitch Duncan (GEEL)
10 Nic Naitanui (WCE)
10 Daniel Rich (BL)
9 Patrick Dangerfield (GEEL)
9 Shane Edwards (RICH)
9 Paddy Ryder (STK)
9 Ollie Wines (PORT)
8 Jayden Short (RICH)
7 Shai Bolton (RICH)
7 Caleb Daniel (WB)
7 Dougal Howard (STK)
7 Toby Nankervis (RICH)
7 Tom Stewart (GEEL)

2020 guernsey auction

Don't miss out on your chance to own a players 2020 clash guernsey. 100% of the profits go back to the Club.