Bachar Houli is Richmond’s next Homecoming Hero for the 2023 season.

The Tigers are set to pay tribute to their triple premiership star in the lead-up to Friday night’s Round 9 clash with Geelong at the MCG.

Houli will walk to the Punt Road end of the ground, where he’ll be warmly received by the Tiger Army.

TICKETS | Secure your seat at Friday night's blockbuster clash against Geelong

He’ll kick a ceremonial goal, then sign the football and present it to a Richmond fan in the crowd.

Highlights of Houli’s excellent playing career with the Tigers also will be shown on the MCG’s big screens.


Bachar Houli joined Richmond in late 2010 via the AFL’s pre-season draft following a frustrating four-year stint at Essendon, where he managed only 26 senior appearances.

The dashing defender grabbed the opportunity offered to him by the Tigers and went on to be a pivotal member of the team over the course of the next decade.

He played such a crucial role in Richmond’s line-up with his elite running ability, rebounding, and spearing, long left-foot kicks.

Runner-up to teammate Dustin Martin in two Norm Smith Medals – 2017 and 2019 – highlights the major impact he had in the Tigers’ success on the game’s biggest stage.

In the 2017 premiership-decider against Adelaide, Houli finished with 25 disposals, 11 marks, four rebound-50s, three inside-50s, five tackles, one goal, four score involvements, seven intercepts and 694 metres gained.


Two years later, in Richmond’s massive Grand Final victory over Greater Western Sydney, Houli had 28 disposals, seven marks, six rebound-50s. six score involvements, nine intercepts, six tackles and 317 metres gained.

Houli also fought valiantly throughout the 2020 Grand Final against Geelong to complete the game, despite sustaining a significant calf injury early in the match. It was particularly important for him to stay out on the field given the fact fellow Tiger defender Nick Vlastuin had been subbed out of the match early in the first quarter with concussion.

The high level of performance consistently produced by Houli across his 206-game at Tigerland is underlined by the seven top-10 finishes he managed in the Jack Dyer Medal.

He finished fourth in his 2011 debut season at the Club, equal 10th in 2012, 10th in 2013, ninth in 2014, eighth in 2015, equal eighth in 2017 and seventh in 2019.

Houli’s best season with Richmond was in the 2019 premiership year, when he gained All-Australian selection for the first time.

That season, he averaged 27.8 disposals, 6.5 marks, 7.0 intercepts, 5.0 rebound-50s and 481.2 metres gained per game.

And he also polled a career-high 11 Brownlow votes that season.

Throughout his time at Tigerland, Houli averaged an impressive 22.6 disposals, 5.4 marks, 5.1 intercepts, 3.7 rebound-50s and 447.8 metres gained per game.

Richmond is proud to have welcomed back Motorola as partner of our 2023 Homecoming Heroes. Motorola was recently announced as the official smartphone partner of the Richmond Football Club.

Bachar Houli profile

Born: May 12, 1988

Height: 181cm

Playing weight: 83kg

Recruited to Richmond from: Essendon

Guernsey number at Richmond: No. 14

Debut at Richmond: Round 1, 2011 v Carlton, MCG

Games at Richmond (2011-2021): 206

Goals at Richmond: 34

Playing honours at Richmond: Triple premiership player (2017, 2019, 2020), All Australian selection (2019)

Richmond's Homecoming Heroes since 2014...

2014, Rd 2: Michael Green 2014, Rd 4: Kevin Bartlett 2014, Rd 6: Bryan Wood
2014, Rd 13: Kevin Morris 2014, Rd 14: Wayne Walsh 2014, Rd 16: Barry Richardson
2014, Rd 19: Rex Hunt 2014, Rd 20: Francis Bourke 2015, Rd 2: Bill Barrot
2015, Rd 5: Andrew Kellaway 2015, Rd 7: Mark Lee 2015, Rd 9: Derek Peardon
2015, R12: Dale Weightman 2015, R15: Matthew Richardson 2015, R17: Dick Clay
2015, R20: Barry Rowlings 2016, R6: Matthew Rogers 2016, R7: Jake King
2016, R8: Nick Daffy 2016, R12: Nathan Foley 2016, R14: Dan Jackson
2016, R17: Scott Turner 2016, R20: Jim Jess 2016, R21: John Ronaldson
2016, R22: Graeme Bond 2017, R2: Roger Dean 2017, R3: Richard Clay
2017, R8: Mick Malthouse 2017, R10: Michael Mitchell 2017, R13: Shane Tuck
2017, R14: Paul Broderick 2017, R18: Stephen Mount 2017, R20: Graham Burgin
2017, R23: Trevor Poole 2018, R3: Michael Roach 2018, R4: Michael Gale
2018, R7: Craig Lambert 2018, R10: Stephen Rae 2018, R16: Chris Naish
2018, R19: Tony Jewell 2018, R20: Gareth Andrews 2018, R22: Mark Eustice
2018, R23: Nathan Brown 2019, R2: Geoff Raines 2019, R9: Darren Gaspar
2019, R10: Andrew Krakouer 2019, R12: Jeff Hogg 2019, R17: Greg Tivendale
2019, R18: Ivan Maric 2019, R21: Tony Free 2019, R22: Merv Keane
2019, R23: Michael Pickering
2021, R7: Chris Hyde 2021, R8: Kayne Pettifer
2021, R17: Lionel Proctor 2022, R2: Jacob Townsend 2022, R4: Joel Bowden
2022, R8: Brett Deledio 2022, R10: Phil Egan 2022, R13: Kelvin Moore
2022, R14: Sam Lloyd 2022, R16: Ben Holland 2022, R20: Brett Evans
2023, R1: Neil Balme
2023, R4: Robert McGhie
2023, R8: Laurie Fowler
2023, R9: Bachar Houli