Main content

Tiger cubs get their chance

Hardwick press conference, 26th February Damien Hardwick speaks to the media, announcing HOSTPLUS as Richmond's coaches partner, ahead of the pre-season match against Western Bulldogs.
Reece McKenzie is one of eight new players to be named for Richmond on Saturday

Eight Richmond players have been selected to represent the Club for the first time, in this Saturday’s opening pre-season challenge match against the Western Bulldogs at Whitten Oval.

The Tigers named a squad of 29 players (including three emergencies) for their first official hitout in 2015, which includes all but one of the Club’s off-season recruits.

The only omission from Richmond’s new brigade is Corey Ellis, who is on the comeback trail from an ankle injury.

Sign up as a Richmond member for the 2015 season before February 28 and beat the price rise

National draftees Connor Menadue, Nathan Drummond, Dan Butler and Reece McKenzie will get their chance to represent the Yellow and Black for the first time, along with new rookies Jayden Short, Jason Castagna and Kane Lambert.

Former Geelong midfielder Taylor Hunt will also make his debut in a Tigers’ guernsey.

Richmond utility Chris Knights, who has been cruelled by injury in the last few years, has been selected to play his first game at AFL level since Round 7, 2013.

Some of the Tigers’ biggest stars will sit out the game, including Trent Cotchin, Brett Deledio, Jack Riewoldt, Ivan Maric, Dustin Martin and Alex Rance.

Pre-purchase your tickets to this Saturday’s pre-season match against the Western Bulldogs to guarantee your entry

Richmond v Western Bulldogs
Saturday February 28, 4.40pm, Whitten Oval
Pre-season game one squad

2. Dylan Grimes
5. Brandon Ellis
6. Shaun Grigg
7. Matt Dea
10. Shane Edwards
11. Jake Batchelor
12. David Astbury
13. Ricky Petterd
15. Chris Knights
16. Shaun Hampson
22. Nathan Gordon
26. Anthony Miles
27. Sam Lloyd
28. Taylor Hunt
29. Ty Vickery
31. Nick Vlastuin
34. Liam McBean
35. Ben Lennon
36. Matt McDonough
37. Connor Menadue
38. Steven Morris
39. Nathan Drummond
40. Dan Butler
42. Reece McKenzie
43. Todd Elton
44. Matt Arnot
45. Jayden Short
46. Jason Castagna
48. Kane Lambert