Shaun Grigg is Richmond’s next Homecoming Hero for the 2023 season.

The Tigers are set to pay tribute to their 2017 premiership star in the lead-up to Sunday’s Round 11 clash with Yartapuulti at the MCG.

Grigg will walk to the Punt Road end of the ground, where he’ll receive the plaudits of the Tiger Army.

TICKETS | 30% off Level 1 goal tickets with the code GRIMES23

He’ll kick a ceremonial goal, then sign the football and present it to a Richmond fan in the crowd.

Highlights of Grigg’s top playing career with the Tigers also will be shown on the MCG’s big screens.


After managing just 43 senior appearances with Carlton in four seasons, Shaun Grigg, seeking greater opportunity at the game’s highest level, joined Richmond during the 2010 trade period in exchange for young Tiger Andrew Collins.

It would turn out to be a huge win for the Tigers, with Grigg going on to play 171 games in the Yellow and Black, while Collins managed just 11 as a Blue.


That total of 171 games by Grigg also happens to be the most by any player in Richmond’s history wearing the No. 6 guernsey.

Grigg was a model of consistency right throughout his time at Tigerland.

Across his playing career at Richmond, Grigg averaged 22.3 disposals per match, and he filled several important on-field roles along the way, including second ruckman in the Tigers’ drought-breaking 2017 premiership year.

Despite being considerably undersized for that task, he attacked it with his trademark selflessness, determination and football ‘smarts’.

Consequently, he was able to provide the team’s No. 1 ruckman Toby Nankervis with valuable back-up.

Grigg performed admirably in the 2017 Grand Final against Adelaide, finishing the big match with 17 disposals, nine contested possessions, five clearances, three inside-50s, one goal, five score involvements, three tackles and 276 metres gained.

As a midfielder, Grigg’s ability to spread from stoppages, find space, and propel the ball inside the Tigers’ forward-50 area on his left boot, made him such a key member of the line-up.

While the focus outside Punt Road always appeared to be on the “Fab Four” – Trent Cotchin, Jack Riewoldt, Alex Rance and Dustin Martin, as well as several other first-rate Tigers – within the Club’s four walls, Shaun Grigg was held in the highest regard.

Unfortunately, after battling a chronic knee injury, Grigg announced his playing retirement from AFL football during the 2019 season.

True to form, Grigg’s unselfish decision freed up a spot on the Tigers’ playing list, ultimately paving the way for Marlion Pickett to be recruited from WAFL club South Fremantle via the AFL’s mid-season rookie draft, and for his fairytale senior debut in that year’s Grand Final.

“Shaun was always a team-first player,” Richmond coach Damien Hardwick said at the time of Grigg’s retirement.

“Look at when he first came into the footy club, and he's a big part of the reason we’re at a place where we are now.

“He's been so important to the fabric of our club.”


Shaun Grigg’s name is etched eternally in the annals of Tigerland as a premiership player.

He will always be fondly remembered by the Tiger Army for the valuable contribution he made to Richmond’s tremendous 2017 premiership triumph.

Richmond is proud to have welcomed back Motorola as partner of our 2023 Homecoming Heroes. Motorola was recently announced as the official smartphone partner of the Richmond Football Club.

Shaun Grigg profile

Born: April 19, 1988

Height: 191cm

Playing weight: 85kg

Recruited to Richmond from: Carlton

Guernsey number at Richmond: No. 6

Debut at Richmond: Round 1, 2011 v Carlton, MCG

Games at Richmond (2011-2019): 171

Goals at Richmond: 86

Playing honours at Richmond: Premiership player 2017, fifth in Best and Fairest 2012, 2016, club life member.

Richmond's Homecoming Heroes since 2014...

2014, Rd 2: Michael Green 2014, Rd 4: Kevin Bartlett 2014, Rd 6: Bryan Wood
2014, Rd 13: Kevin Morris 2014, Rd 14: Wayne Walsh 2014, Rd 16: Barry Richardson
2014, Rd 19: Rex Hunt 2014, Rd 20: Francis Bourke 2015, Rd 2: Bill Barrot
2015, Rd 5: Andrew Kellaway 2015, Rd 7: Mark Lee 2015, Rd 9: Derek Peardon
2015, R12: Dale Weightman 2015, R15: Matthew Richardson 2015, R17: Dick Clay
2015, R20: Barry Rowlings 2016, R6: Matthew Rogers 2016, R7: Jake King
2016, R8: Nick Daffy 2016, R12: Nathan Foley 2016, R14: Dan Jackson
2016, R17: Scott Turner 2016, R20: Jim Jess 2016, R21: John Ronaldson
2016, R22: Graeme Bond 2017, R2: Roger Dean 2017, R3: Richard Clay
2017, R8: Mick Malthouse 2017, R10: Michael Mitchell 2017, R13: Shane Tuck
2017, R14: Paul Broderick 2017, R18: Stephen Mount 2017, R20: Graham Burgin
2017, R23: Trevor Poole 2018, R3: Michael Roach 2018, R4: Michael Gale
2018, R7: Craig Lambert 2018, R10: Stephen Rae 2018, R16: Chris Naish
2018, R19: Tony Jewell 2018, R20: Gareth Andrews 2018, R22: Mark Eustice
2018, R23: Nathan Brown 2019, R2: Geoff Raines 2019, R9: Darren Gaspar
2019, R10: Andrew Krakouer 2019, R12: Jeff Hogg 2019, R17: Greg Tivendale
2019, R18: Ivan Maric 2019, R21: Tony Free 2019, R22: Merv Keane
2019, R23: Michael Pickering
2021, R7: Chris Hyde 2021, R8: Kayne Pettifer
2021, R17: Lionel Proctor 2022, R2: Jacob Townsend 2022, R4: Joel Bowden
2022, R8: Brett Deledio 2022, R10: Phil Egan 2022, R13: Kelvin Moore
2022, R14: Sam Lloyd 2022, R16: Ben Holland 2022, R20: Brett Evans
2023, R1: Neil Balme
2023, R4: Robert McGhie
2023, R8: Laurie Fowler
2023, R9: Bachar Houli
2023, R11: Shaun Grigg