Cameron Clayton is Richmond’s fourth Homecoming Hero of the 2024 season.

The Tigers will pay tribute to Clayton in the lead-up to Saturday’s twilight clash with Hawthorn at the MCG.

Clayton will walk to the Punt Road end to receive the plaudits of the Tiger Army and then kick a ceremonial goal.

Richmond recruited Clayton from Tasmanian club New Norfolk. He had attracted the attention of Tiger talent scouts at the 1972 Australian schoolboys’ carnival, where his impressive form for Tasmania earned him selection in the schoolboys’ All-Australian team.

The Tigers enticed Clayton to Punt Road on the promise of Grand Final tickets for all his family members, however, he didn’t tell club officials at the time that he had four brothers and 10 sisters!

Clayton played in Richmond’s 1973 under 19s premiership side as a 16-year-old.

The following season, he broke into the Tigers’ powerful senior line-up, making his debut in the Round 15, 1974 match against Carlton at the MCG as a 17-year-old.

Clayton went on to play seven more senior games in the ’74 season, including Richmond’s Grand Final triumph over North Melbourne as the 19th man, coming on to the ground late in the premiership-decider.

That made it eight wins from eight games for Clayton in his debut season of league football.

Nicknamed “Ratller”, he was a strongly-built, talented, tough, utility player with good pace, who was a valuable contributor for the Tigers over the course of the next three years in a variety of roles.

In Round 18 of the 1975 season, Clayton had a career-high 32 disposals against Melbourne.

Clayton’s last senior appearance with Richmond was in Round 21 of the 1977 season against Carlton at the MCG.

Overall, he played 57 goals and kicked 20 goals in his time at Tigerland, before subsequently transferring to Melbourne and later Essendon.

Richmond is proud to have welcomed back Motorola as partner of our Homecoming Heroes. Motorola is the official smartphone partner of the Richmond Football Club.

Cameron Clayton profile

Born: February 5, 1957

Height: 180cm

Playing weight: 85kg

Recruited to Richmond from: New Norfolk (Tasmania)

Guernsey numbers at Richmond: No. 43 and No. 26.

Debut at Richmond: Round 15, 1974 v Carlton, MCG.

Games at Richmond (1974-1977): 57

Goals at Richmond: 20

Honours at Richmond: Member of the 1974 premiership side.

Richmond's Homecoming Heroes since 2014...

2014, Rd 2: Michael Green 2014, Rd 4: Kevin Bartlett 2014, Rd 6: Bryan Wood
2014, Rd 13: Kevin Morris 2014, Rd 14: Wayne Walsh 2014, Rd 16: Barry Richardson
2014, Rd 19: Rex Hunt 2014, Rd 20: Francis Bourke 2015, Rd 2: Bill Barrot
2015, Rd 5: Andrew Kellaway 2015, Rd 7: Mark Lee 2015, Rd 9: Derek Peardon
2015, R12: Dale Weightman 2015, R15: Matthew Richardson 2015, R17: Dick Clay
2015, R20: Barry Rowlings 2016, R6: Matthew Rogers 2016, R7: Jake King
2016, R8: Nick Daffy 2016, R12: Nathan Foley 2016, R14: Dan Jackson
2016, R17: Scott Turner 2016, R20: Jim Jess 2016, R21: John Ronaldson
2016, R22: Graeme Bond 2017, R2: Roger Dean 2017, R3: Richard Clay
2017, R8: Mick Malthouse 2017, R10: Michael Mitchell 2017, R13: Shane Tuck
2017, R14: Paul Broderick 2017, R18: Stephen Mount 2017, R20: Graham Burgin
2017, R23: Trevor Poole 2018, R3: Michael Roach 2018, R4: Michael Gale
2018, R7: Craig Lambert 2018, R10: Stephen Rae 2018, R16: Chris Naish
2018, R19: Tony Jewell 2018, R20: Gareth Andrews 2018, R22: Mark Eustice
2018, R23: Nathan Brown 2019, R2: Geoff Raines 2019, R9: Darren Gaspar
2019, R10: Andrew Krakouer 2019, R12: Jeff Hogg 2019, R17: Greg Tivendale
2019, R18: Ivan Maric 2019, R21: Tony Free 2019, R22: Merv Keane
2019, R23: Michael Pickering
2021, R7: Chris Hyde 2021, R8: Kayne Pettifer
2021, R17: Lionel Proctor 2022, R2: Jacob Townsend 2022, R4: Joel Bowden
2022, R8: Brett Deledio 2022, R10: Phil Egan 2022, R13: Kelvin Moore
2022, R14: Sam Lloyd 2022, R16: Ben Holland 2022, R20: Brett Evans
2023, R1: Neil Balme
2023, R4: Robert McGhie
2023, R8: Laurie Fowler
2023, R9: Bachar Houli
2023, R11: Shaun Grigg
2023, R14: John Howat
2023, R17: Mike Perry
2023, R19: Craig McKellar
2023, R20: Bruce Monteath
2024, R2: Matt White
2024, R8: Reece Conca
2024, R11: Shane Edwards
2024, R14: Cameron Clayton